Krystal Pen

Fiction, Poetry and everything Literary. Every voice should be heard.

This is the night! Ayobami and the Bailey’s prize 2017

Book readings, book signings and every conventional event that leads to the crowning of the Bailey’s prize winner has come to a close. 

Tonight, at the London’s Royal Festival Hall, the winner will be announced. 

In the shortlist are; 

  • C. E Morgan (USA), Sport of kings
  • Madeleine Their (Canada), Do not say we have nothing
  • Ayobami Adebayo (Nigeria), Stay with me
  • Gwendoline Riley (UK), First love
  • Naomi Alderman (UK), The power
  • Linda Grant (UK), The dark circle 

The winner will receive £30,000 and a ‘Bessie’- a Limited Edition bronze statue- created by artist Grizel Niven. 

We, from Nigeria and Africa are quite excited to learn that Ayobami’s ‘Stay with me’ is bookmaker’s second favourite to win. But of course we are hopeful she will usurp whoever that is ahead. 


Categories: Home, Miscellaneous

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s